Word

by little red pen

Things I love about Word

I use Word more than any other program. It has many fine features that I’d like to celebrate:

  1. Styles. I don’t go enormously fancy with my Word styles, but I love being able to get a handle on the shape and feel of a document by setting up headings, bullets, tables, etc.
  2. Fonts. It’s pleasing how much time I can spend trialling different fonts before returning to the usual suspects that adorn 95% of my documents.
  3. Keyboard shortcuts. Very satisfying. My favourites are SHIFT-COMMAND-M, SHIFT-COMMAND-N, OPT-;, COMMAND-C, COMMAND-X and COMMAND-V. I also love the shortcuts for accents.
  4. Paragraph spacing. I really like adjusting the spacing before and after paragraphs to get headings, tables, etc, looking nice.
  5. Focus view. Ahhhh, restful. Also — oh, that looks worse than I thought it would.

 

Things that make me go hmmmm

I use Word more than any other program. It has some qualities that really grind my gears.

  1. Fonts. Often I’m working on a  document that someone else is going to play with, so I need to choose fonts that are available in a range of Word versions and on both PCs and Mac. Why, why, are compatible fonts so damn ugly?
  2. Text boxes, graphics, etc. There has got to be an easier way to get visuals into a document. SO MUCH fiddling around.
  3. Saving. The save function on my laptop seems a bit glitchy. Just me?
  4. Changes. Whenever a new version of Word comes out, it takes … a while … to figure out where they’ve hidden everything.
  5. Automaticking. Look, I’m not an idiot. Stop adjusting everything for me. And put that back where you found it RIGHT NOW. I can spell too (more or less) and sometimes I make up words, so GO AWAY.